1974 Evinrude 25Hp Electrical questions

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FormerParatrooper

Reaction score
I am looking at the service manual for an 1974 Evinrude 25Hp Model 25452M. The manual states that the "Starter amperage draw when cranking " is 120 amperes. This is a 12v system.

I am not an electrician, so my questions:

There is a 6 ga battery cable installed, and it does not reach where the battery is on my boat. I would need to extend it to a total length of 14 feet to reach the battery and have about 10% slack in the line. Would I change the wire to 4 ga for the length of the run?

What size fuse would I use?

I'm no electrical engineer but I used a set of booster cables for wire in my boat. Trolling motor and batt up front, booster cable wire to a junction block where it ties into the motor, bilge pump, fish finder etc...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'd have to go look to be honest but they aren't 4 ga. Lol. I figured that if they we're engineered to start a car, it would probably run the starter on a 20 hp boat motor. Early spring, booster cables be on sale. I got a good quality pair for half price last April. I went through the same thing man. I looked at heavy wire, welding cable even. Then for a budget boat I came up with the booster cable idea. Worked mint all last year. They never got hot. Motor cranks for what 4-5 seconds? Maybe 3 times when cold and just a bump when it's warmed up.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

FormerParatrooper said:
I am looking at the service manual for an 1974 Evinrude 25Hp Model 25452M. The manual states that the "Starter amperage draw when cranking " is 120 amperes. This is a 12v system.

I am not an electrician, so my questions: