Bow Mount Trolling Motors

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattfishinmanvan

Reaction score
Good morning/afternoon!

I just bought a 1990 Sea Nymph FM 161 and am looking for some recommendations or sugguestions on what to get/what to avoid for a bow mounted trolling motor. The boat weighs about 600ish pounds and I am looking to get a bow mount trolling motor with foot pedal. What lb thrust range should I get? I've been looking around on Craigslist for some used older models but honestly I have never used one before. I am a fairly big guy and will always have someone else out with me so I'm thinking I'll need a little extra power as well. I'm mainly going to be using the boat in NJ on electric only lakes.

Thanks in advance for your time and input!

(here is a link to some pictures of the boat...I just realized I put this in the wrong section and feel like an idiot... :oops: )
https://www.tinboats.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=32071

Matt

I'm also from NJ and know the electric only theme.
Here's the thing...I have a 16 foot flat bottom and I put a 101 Fortrex on it. Not saying you need to do that but when it's your only source of propulsion go as big as you can.
I would say 55 is the smallest you want to go with, but you will get more battery life with a 70 lb because it's a 24 volt system, even more with a 36 volt.
My advice go as big as you can and enjoy the freedom it brings on the electic motor only lakes we fish. A 55 lb would push your boat fine( I have one on the back of the boat for loading and unloading and it pushes the boat very well)...but rowing home from the far side of "the pink" was never something I wanted to do. 55 lbs would have me wondering how much juice I had left, but I can fish 8 hours an outing running wide open from spot to spot.