Fish Finder Mounting

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fearthewopr

Reaction score
Hi, first post here...

First, I'm pretty new to boating, so learning as much as I can, but an very handy and love learning new things like this.

I have a 1989 StarCraft 14' V Bottom that was a gift from my father in law. It's completely aluminum except for the transom. 9.5hp Johnson ('70s).

Found a bow mount trolling motor on Marketplace. The bow cap (aluminum) is too small to mount the TM, so I am adding some sealed ABX plywood to make room to mount it. I plan to rivit some angle Aluminum inside the gunnels to support the plywood at the correct height.

Underneath this new extended bow cap, I am planning to add a platform the same height as the front aluminum seat. It will just sit right on top of the seat and I'll probably use bolts to mount it to the seat.

This will be enough room to mount a seat with pedestal and act as a small casting deck with the foot controlled TM right there.

I am looking for advice on how and where to mount the Garmin echomap 44cv that was also included.

i have a transducer plate epoxied to the transom to mount it to.

All of that said, I have a few questions:

1. For the platform that will sit on the front seat -- as long as I cut it the correct size, can it just be bolted to the seat with the front of it resting against the bow? Or do I need to have some sort of support under the plywood where it hits the bow?

2. Cabling: How to I route the transducer cabling into the boat? Just get some surface mount cable management clips and run it right up and over the transom?