Muffs vs Barrel vs Lake?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LionHeart

Reaction score
Hey guys! I'm pretty new to the forum, and have already learned so much. I'm also new to outboards. I recently bought an 86 Johnson 15 hp, and have been performing a bit of maintenance here and there trying to get it running properly. I hope to have everything back together by this weekend, and would like to test it out in my driveway before putting it in the lake. I bought a set of muffs, and while I have a basic idea of how they work, I don't feel comfortable using them until I know a little more.

I'm pretty sure I can't take the motor to high RPM using only muffs, but just how high can I take it safely? Just Idle? What if I use a barrel? I guess what I'm looking for is a basic tutorial and run down of what a noob like myself should be aware of while testing an out board in the driveway. I've tried watching youtube videos, googling, and the search function here, and really haven't found what I'm looking for.

Any tips and/or advice you guys could give about using muffs vs barrel vs lake would be very appreciated. Thanks -James

i never run a motor up in the rpms in a barrel or with muffs .... cycle the gears and maybe a lil above idle but if ya crank it up with muffs it has no load on the motor and is freewheeling, not good .. and ya will blow the water out of the barrel when revved up in gear ..... so to really test it take a ride!!

You can be a little more aggressive that that. Crank her and if she is running at low RPM good, let the motor warm up for a good while. Then take her up in the RPM range a few times but don't hold it there. Just wick it a few times to see how she responds. Now I don't mean top rpm, 2500 to 3000 but only after a good warm up.

Lake > Barrel > muffs.