Need help getting this trailer setup

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tin Yachtsman

Reaction score
Hello everyone. Happy Father's Day. As you can see in the pictures below, my trailer is in need of some work. I have zero boat experience but a decent amount of mechanical ability. I've read many of the posts on the site and have some ideas, but I want to make sure I'm heading down the right path. So, let me fire off a few questions:

On the bow stop: Does everyone agree I should just remove the old rubber bow stop and bracket and replace it with a 2x4? As you can see in the picture, it is several inches away from the hull of the boat, so I need to adjust or lengthen the arm to reach the boat. My first idea was to put a block of wood between the arm and the trailer to make the arm stick out a couple inches farther. What about moving the arm above the winch?

On the bunks: Just remove the current ones and replace them with covered 2x4s? Take off the rollers and brackets as well?

I currently have the winch hook, the safety chain, and the bow rope all attached to the boat through an extra ring because none of them will snap securely onto the boat handle. It's probably not the safest setup. What can I do to improve that?

Thanks in advance!

TinBoat002.jpg

TinBoat003.jpg

Welcome, definitly on a jon, flat 2x4's(not pressure treated) you treat them yourself with Thompsons, then cover with carpets, 6 feet or more, flat on the frame, look at my Harbor freight trailer bunk mods in the trailer section, also the trailer tips, definitly need a 2x4 X 2 foot carpet covered up front, can you crank that winch? looks close. Good luck