ouachita 1666 Project

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

czuniga

Reaction score
Hello, Ciro from Deep south texas. I am new to this site but have been reading wonderfull information in reference to jons b. I just recently got my hands on this old 1973 ouachita jon quite big, 16 ft long and 66 inches wide. I am wondering if its a good brand. Looks very solid and for 300 bucks including and a ok trailer i thinks its was alright. Will need to sand blast and repaint. Any suggestion on primer and paint i should use. might have to redo transom. Will post pics soon. Any information will be appreciated.

Thanks

hello and welcome, im not an expert but i did research sandblasting not too long ago and im not sure if its a good idea. many say the air pressure alone can rip and tear the aluminum, not sure if theres any truth to this but i did find some people talking about soda blasting. IM going with aircraft stripper. its about the same cost from what ive seen. anyways good luck, and welcome aboard!

thanks for the info i will keep it in mind. Just weighing out my options and looking for some opinions. i think with a little work and carefull planning i can turn this tin into a nice little rig....

Sandblasting an aluminum boat is a no go. Soda blast, or I have heard of some using the ground up walnut shells.

Thnaks for the info. Ill just go with paint stripper and wire brush. I read on another thread to apply the stripper and then use the pressure washer. Will give that a try. Any info on the boat brand. Its not as popular as alumnacraft or lowe. Just wondering on that. Also I have a 1436 alumnacraft with a 9.9 jonhson just wondering it that engine will push this monster. It does a really good job on the 14 fter.Pics coming soon