Question about Mini-Jacker install

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BathtubGin

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am very new to boats. I have my first aluminum that I'm going to use for fishing. The motor I have is a long shaft and I'm going to install a mini-jacker because the transom is 15".

This may be a dumb question... There is 3/4" plywood attached to both sides of the transom. When I install the Mini-Jacker - should I take the plywood off? Or just drill the mini-jacker right to the wood?

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

BathtubGin said:
Hi Everyone,

I am very new to boats. I have my first aluminum that I'm going to use for fishing. The motor I have is a long shaft and I'm going to install a mini-jacker because the transom is 15".

This may be a dumb question... There is 3/4" plywood attached to both sides of the transom. When I install the Mini-Jacker - should I take the plywood off? Or just drill the mini-jacker right to the wood?

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!
The mini jacket needs all the support your transom can give it. I wouldn’t take anything off. If you have plywood on both sides use large washers to keep the bolt heads from pulling into the plywood.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I had trouble with rigging an old unknown brand 1548 for a friend. It was a 15" transom and he had a 20" motor, so I recommended the mini jacker. He ordered it and we were putting it on. Tested yesterday. It is real high on the transom but still too low. With the setback alone, I think we could come up about 3", plus the 5" shaft length so 8" I think is gonna be close. It looks goofy with the motor lifted that high but that's what he has to work with and he don't care. The jacker is lifted on the transom and the motor is lifted on the jacker. We ran out of time and have it at 2" now and still low, I think another inch is gonna be close.