Smokey and bogging! Where to start?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stinkynathan

Reaction score
1982 (I think) Mariner 15m
684C s 018599

It finally warmed up enough for me to stick the motor in a trash can today. It started up pretty easy. It ran well for a while, then seemed to start bogging down and smoking a lot. It eventually died. Started it again and it smoked bad, bogged down, and died.

I let it sit while I took apart the throttle linkages that have play in them. Started it again after I got it back together. It ran OK for a little while again, then started bogging. The last time I started it I took this video. That's with the throttle all the way up. Any less throttle and it would die.

I'm new to 2-cycle, but definitely not to carbed engines. I've tinkered with my Harley enough to know at least a little bit about how things work. Come to think of it, I guess I've never had one malfunction on me, though.

Where do I start? Carb kit? Plugs and gas are both brand new.

Attachments

• IMG_1001 (Large).jpg
    IMG_1001 (Large).jpg
    93.4 KB · Views: 1,274
I would start with cleaning the carb(s) and checking the float height.Most engines don't require a kit for this.Another issue could be the points and condenser,I just replace them.Gap setting is usually on the plate covering the points.They are usually cheap.If it ran that good I'd say the coils are probably ok,but when they get hot they could be breaking down.Wost case,the carb(s) could be out of sync with the ignition timing,if your engine has this.I've yet to figure out how this works on my engine,but it must be spot on to run smoothly.

I had the carb apart and have already cleaned everything out.

I just went out a few minutes ago to take picture of the plate on my transom and realized that I hadn't opened the gas tank vent when I was running the engine. That can't have helped.