14' Aluminum battery box

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mudpuppy77

Reaction score
I am a newbie to boats in general and even more so to modifications. I am almost done with my mod on a 14" Crestliner V hull. I have searched this site and others over and over but cannot quite find the answer I am looking for so I am going to ask you all for ideas.
I am planning on mounting a trolling motor on the bow and store the battery under the deck in one of the compartments.
Front Compartments.jpg
Any ideas on how I would mount and secure the battery to the aluminum hull?
I plan to use a battery box but I am not sure just screwing the box to the stringers (not sure of correct term) will hold it in place in the long run. There isn't much space between the top of the stringer and the actual hull, maybe a 1/2 inch.
Stringers.jpg
I have thought about gluing PVC or some sort of plastic platform to hull and then bolting the battery box to that. Still not sold on that either. I would like to do this right the 1st time so please share any ideas you may have.

Thanks!

Is the cavity under the hatch cover wide open? I'm not sure I'm on the right track here but maybe you could cut 2 plywood gussets that fit into the ribs at the bottom. The gussets, glued to the rib and reinforced with an aluminum flat bar that is screwed to the gusset and riveted into the rib should make a solid base to build a floor to attach the battery box to...

rib.jpg

Wow Bobberboy. That is a heck of a diagram! That looks like a great solution but here are some of my hurdles.