Going for Salmon this weekend - first time

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gamefisher

Reaction score
A friend from high school (who gave me the idea to take up fishing in the first place), invited me on a trip to Pulaski, NY to fish the Salmon River. The trip is coming up this weekend, and we are going to be wading the river for salmon & steelhead if we are lucky. I've never tried this before, but he & his family members have gone for several years. Wish us luck!

Matt

Pulaski, thats off of Lake Ontario I think...right? I fish rivers off of Lake Ontario here in Ontario lol. I am going to go probably friday. (15 minute drive from my house) Have to get some eggs for the Steelhead run in Georgian Bay. I will be wading as well. I am going to bring 4 rods. 2 will have Flies and the other will have an egg immitation. A bait caster rod will be for drifting a spoon or medium size plug.

I use rods from 8'6" - 9'6" All spinning rods are spooled with 8lb Silverthread and 10lb Suffix Elite. With 8lb and 10lb Fluorocarbon leaders. The Casting rod is spooled with 14lb Suffix Siege Green.

Just something to think bout.

Anyways, I hope you have alot of fun n get a 40lb from there, theres lots ;) and stay safe!

The Lures.
200810011216420001xi1.jpg

The Flies and Terminal Tackle
200810011217200003vs7.jpg

The Rods and Reels
200810011217460004sg7.jpg

Salmon_Slayer_2008_Lund said:
Pulaski, thats off of Lake Ontario I think...right?

Yes, just a couple miles off Ontario. He is bringing all the fishing tackle - I don't know much about what we are using, but he described it as a Shimano setup that is somewhere between a spinning rig and a fly rig.

This was definitely an interesting & fun weekend.