Spinning reel question

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aeviaanah

Reaction score
I was purchasing a bait casting reel today and an employee in the fishing dept at Bass pro said to never reel your spinning reel with tension on it. Meaning if you are trying to land a fish you need to pull up on it, drop the rod and use the reel to retrieve the "loose" line. He said this is why I am getting line twist. Anyone heard of this, is he right?

Ive always reeled in with tension and not gotten line twist, however I have gotten line twist by spooling my reel with the line coming straight off spool....instead I spool the line on with the reel spool laying down so the line unravels off....if that makes sense, never got line twist after I started doing that, might depend on the type of line too, Im straight fluoro now.... but I'm no expert either

Some tips from Woo Daves on spinning tackle.
1. When spooling the line lay the spool flat below the rod and reel about 10 turns of the handle. Drop your rod tip and see if the line coils, if no keep reeling, if it coils flip the spool over and repeat. This time you sholdn't have any coils.
2. Never close the bail by turning the handle, always close the bail manually with your hand.
3. After making a cast lift you rod up a few inches to put tension on the line.
4. If you get line twist during the day cut off you lure and troll out about 50 yards of line behind you boat.
Pretty good advice. I have never heard the don't reel thing.

nimmor said:
1. When spooling the line lay the spool flat below the rod and reel about 10 turns of the handle. Drop your rod tip and see if the line coils, if no keep reeling, if it coils flip the spool over and repeat. This time you sholdn't have any coils.
2. Never close the bail by turning the handle, always close the bail manually with your hand.