Tracker 1232 Project Suggestions

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave11

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting and I wanted to say thanks to everyone who shares their knowledge and experience on this site. After reading through many of the posts, I have been inspired to start my own jon boat mod project and I am looking for some suggestions.

Last year, I bought a Tracker 1232 jon boat, a 6 hp Johnson 2 cycle outboard, and a 45-lb minn kota trolling motor (didn’t get a chance to use though).
Topper-1232-Riveted-Jon_img4218_700.jpg
Last season, I was originally transporting the boat on the roof of my suv which was one of the reasons I bought it. It worked great for the rivers and lakes I fish.

A few of the problems I ran into though were that everything needed to come out of the boat before I put it on my roof (things started to add up). It also makes it nearly impossible to go fishing by myself transporting it in this fashion. I usually fish with a friend, but there were times when I couldnt find anybody to go with me so I couldnt take the boat.

Now this upcoming year, I am going to buy a trailer and make some improvements to the boat. After reading many of the posts, I realize that building a high deck would be foolish. However, I would like to make a carpeted floor to dampen sound and prevent gear from sliding around. I would also like to make the bow seat into a storage container that is flush with the top of the boat and frame a lid for the small transom storage area. I also bought a fish finder that I need to install. I am also going to purchase two swivel seats. Not sure if I am going to buy the clamp style or pedestal kind. I am thinking something like bobberboy did: https://www.tinboats.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=9712