Aproximate year of motor

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Redmond

Reaction score
:?: Hi,I am a newbie on this site.Dont own a tin boat yet ,but it is in the plans.I have been building my own wooden (plywood) john boats for a while now,but I am getting older ...and looking forward to buying something that is less demanding maintenance wise...My question today is about a motor I have seen for sale on the net (kijiji edmonton can.)There is a 15 hp 2 cycle jonhson for sale, and the seller claims its an 1984; but the color of the motor is sort of grayish, not black more of in between the two (black/grey) I know its a hard one to guess...but the newer ones are white and my buddy got an 81 and its white also?? so I am kinda stumped about the years. Thanks for any info.PS (I have been snooping on this site for a while, and I quite enjoy it.) Mike

HI,the motor is on a ebay style of posting board,it can be accessed through google Kijiji edmonton it is presently on page no 2....Mike

Mike Redmond said:
:?: Hi,I am a newbie on this site.Dont own a tin boat yet ,but it is in the plans.I have been building my own wooden (plywood) john boats for a while now,but I am getting older ...and looking forward to buying something that is less demanding maintenance wise...My question today is about a motor I have seen for sale on the net (kijiji edmonton can.)There is a 15 hp 2 cycle jonhson for sale, and the seller claims its an 1984; but the color of the motor is sort of grayish, not black more of in between the two (black/grey) I know its a hard one to guess...but the newer ones are white and my buddy got an 81 and its white also?? so I am kinda stumped about the years. Thanks for any info.PS (I have been snooping on this site for a while, and I quite enjoy it.) Mike

Hello & welcome aboard! :USA1: