Hyd steering

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

catsmith

Reaction score
Thinking of changing to a hydraulic steering in my tracker pro165. Contemplating changing from side console to center. The hyd steering would make the switch easier.

Any thoughts?

I prefer a center console but that's just my own personal preference. From what I've read hydraulic steering isn't a requirement unless you have a 150 or larger motor. I have no experience with it myself so take that with a grain of salt.

Never had hydraulic steering but I hear it is great. Like Catsmith says, the general thinking is it isn't needed for small boats/outboards.

My current boat has no feedback (NFB) steering. All of the torque steer I was used to in the previous boat is gone. If you do decide to stick with a mechanical system I would highly recommend NFB steering.

on a small motor, under 100 hp, i would never go hydraulic. you introduce too many potential fail points. incresed service, bleeding, seals, and it is not as easy to steer at slow speeds. had a chamion with 175 on it and it was very smooth but the initial slack was bothersome. a buddy had a lesser boat, same motr, and he would get serious chine walk because of the intial slack not allowing instant response for corrections.
a cable on a small boat and motor is much easier to drive on almost every situation, just grease it once a year........go fish, spend your $$$$$$ on gas!

Go for a 'No Feedback' cable system, where I'd buy a Uflex System. Routing your old cable will tell you what kind of new cable length you may need for when going to CC. I converted a few side console hulls to CCs and the biggest cost was ugrading the control box from side-mount to a binnacle or top-mount.