New 14foot Jon Boat owner. Need assistance on basic setup.

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mangdoost

Reaction score
30ro3rq.jpg

Hello my new family. I just purchased this jon boat, and I'm new to this.

Here is what I am hoping to safely use in the boat. How do I connect these items together? I saw a lot of people talking about fuse blocks and switch panels, but that part is confusing to me and I need to know how it applies in my exact situation.

-Striker 4 Garmin fish finder
-Single battery (with battery box) (do I need a big 24v or a 12v)?
-Single red/light LED front navigation light
-Two LED spreader lights (hopefully one in front, one in back, but if not possible both in front). (2.0A @ 12v)
-Single LED front bicolor navigation light (.70watt, 12 VDC working voltage.

So that's it, however, I would also like to have a switch panel for the lights, with a spare switch on the panel, and a 12V socket and USB port. It should enable me to turn the set up off when done for the day and cut power to everything. I may or may not need protection ie fuse box and/or circuit breaker. That's what I was saying earlier part of bringing all the stuff together is confusing.

I'm hoping to get help from you guys so that I can safely be on the water, and return and contribute to new people in my position on here in the future! Thanks in advance.

I downloaded the following wiring diagram for reference from Newwiremarine.com. Thought I would share in case it might help sort things out. Of course your electrical components can vary from those shown.

New Wire.png

LDUBS, thank you for your kind reply. If this gets a few other nods of approval as an ideal method I'll go ahead with it. If I don't hear anything I'll still go with it.